Picture
Our final days in South Africa were spent in Hluhluwe-iMfolozi Game Reserve, a humongous wildlife reserve located in KZN. About half of us - including me - stayed in luxury tents (like the one in Harry Potter), and the rest stayed in a decent sized house. We stayed at Mpila Camp, pretty much right in the middle of the park, and there really was no barrier between us and the rest of the park. Seeing animals like Impala, Nyala, Zebra, Monkeys, and Warthogs wandering the camp was common. I even got in a Western stand-off with a giant male warthog...and lost.

Throughout the day, we had several options. There were some walking safaris, game drives, or we could just relax at the park. I went on 2 drives and a walking safari, and most of us also went to St. Lucia Park and spent half a day at iSimangaliso Wetlands.

This experience was absolutely fantastic. Pictures cannot truly express how awesome it was. Seeing the wildlife, gazing at the Milky Way, standing on "Pride Rock", and nearly getting mauled by a confused rhino, are all experiences I know I will never forget. I took a boatload of pictures (mouse over "Blog" and click the "Pictures" link) that you can check out, but keep in mind that these stills don't do this park justice.

This is my last post and if you've been reading, thank you. For me, this was the trip of a lifetime, and I really have enjoyed sharing it. If you have any questions or comments, feel free to leave it in the "comments" section, or shoot me an email at [email protected].

Sala kahle!

7/23/2013 09:26:50 pm

You guys are really lucky to have visited the Hluhluwe-iMfolozi Game Reserve. It is supposed to be one of the best in Africa. I would like to see more of the photos you have taken while your safari. Could you please share it here?

Reply
Nisarg
7/23/2013 10:12:32 pm

It was fantastic. All of the photos I took are under the "Pictures" tab (mouse over Blog in the top right), you can check them out there.

Reply



Leave a Reply.